When CSTA and Code.org announced their 2017 Champions for Computer Science award winners, ahead of the #CSEdWeek award ceremony, we were thrilled, but not surprised, to find a couple familiar names on the list!

CSTA and Code.org Announce the 2017 Champions for Computer Science

In celebration of the 2017 Computer Science Education Week (CSEdWeek), the Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) and Code.org are pleased to announce the inaugural Champions for Computer Science. From developing a wristband and app to help parents monitor their young children, to serving as a hub to expand computer science to rural communities statewide, these winners represent the students, teachers, schools, districts, and organizations on the forefront of the national computer science education movement.

Champions for Computer Science—from Texas!

Efrain Lopez, a WeTeach_CS alum, from J. W. Nixon High School (Laredo, TX) was named a Champion for Computer Science in the Teacher category.

Brenham High School (Brenham, TX)  was named a Champion of Computer Science in the School category. This comes as no surprise, because accepting the award on the school’s behalf is none other than 2017 WeTeach_CS Change Maker Award winner, Trenton Hall!

The whole WeTeach_CS Community should join us in congratulating these Champions for Computer Science for their achievements and for showing everyone that Texas is serious about #CSforAll!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This