We have spoken with several people from across Texas that were not aware of this change in the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) that was made in April 2014. The Texas State Board of Education made changes to the education code in the chapter that tells schools what courses they are required to offer. The information below only encompasses the Technology Applications area.




Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 2

Chapter 74: Curriculum Requirements

Subchapter A. Required Curriculum

74.3. Description of a Required Secondary Curriculum.


(b)  Secondary Grades 9-12.


(2)  The school district must offer the courses listed in this paragraph and maintain evidence that students have the opportunity to take these courses:


(I)  technology applications– Computer Science I and Computer Science II or Advanced Placement (AP) Computer Science and at least two courses selected from Computer Science III, Digital Art and Animation, Digital Communications in the 21st Century, Digital Design and Media Production, Digital Forensics, Digital Video and Audio Design, Discrete Mathematics for Computer Science, Fundamentals of Computer Science, Game Programming and Design, Independent Study in Evolving/Emerging Technologies, Independent Study in Technology Applications, Mobile Application Development, Robotics Programming and Design, 3-D Modeling and Animation, Web Communications, Web Design, and Web Game Development;


Statutory Authority: The provisions of this Subchapter A issued under the Texas Education Code, §§7.102, 28.002, 28.023, 28.025, 28.054, and 38.003, unless otherwise noted.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This